Our Board

Connectivity is governed by an independent board of directors whose membership is based on the experience and skill sets required to deliver the needs of the organisation and its governance.

Our Board

Robert Vink

Chair of the Board

Chair of the Connectivity Board, Emeritus Professor Robert Vink is a Neuroscientist specialising in acute brain injury. Having completed his studies at Griffiths University in Queensland (Bsc Hons and PhD), Prof Vink was awarded a Sandoz Postdoctoral Neuroscience Fellowship in the Neurology Department at the University of California, San Francisco.

Since then, Prof Vink has largely focused his research on identifying secondary pathology following central nervous system injuries, and the associated development of novel pharmacotherapies that improve functional outcome.

Throughout his professional career, Prof Vink has worked as Head of Department of Physiology and Pharmacology at James Cook University in Queensland, the Head of School of Medical Sciences at the University of Adelaide, and the Pro-Vice Chancellor at the University of South Australia. Upon his retirement from academia in 2019 Vink was honoured with the title of Emeritus Professor.

Prof Vink has actively been involved with not-for-profit companies for many years, and has held positions with the Neurosurgical Research Foundation, the Florey Medical Research Foundation, the Scientific and Education Advisory Committee at the National Trauma Research Institute, was the Co-Chair of the South Australian Neuroscience Institute and a member of the Research Committee at the Spinal Cord Society of Australia. He is currently President of the International Neurotrauma Society, a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences, and in 2018 was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM).

Judi Moylan

Deputy-chair of the Board

Deputy-chair of the Board, Judi Moylan has a wealth of knowledge and experience in a number of different industries. Having worked in education, as a real estate agent and company director, Ms Moylan then took a foray into politics becoming the first West Australian woman to be elected as a Liberal MP for the House of Representatives in the seat of Pearce in 1993. This kick-started a 20-year career in politics, during which time Ms Moylan served as the Minister for Family Services, along with assisting the Prime Minister for the Status of Women.

Upon her retirement from politics in 2013, Ms Moylan took on the role of President of the Board of Diabetes Australia. Although she gave up the position on the 1st of January 2019, Judi is still heavily involved with the organisation today, and in 2016 was awarded an officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for her advocacy of the diabetes community, women’s issues and her distinguished career as a Federal MP.

John Higgins

Board Member

John Higgins is the Chairman of family owned Higgins Coating, a commercial painting firm founded by his parents, Gerry and Peggy, over 70 years ago.

Mr Higgins is the Chairman of the advisory board of Positive Psychology at Melbourne University and was a foundation board member of the National Gallery of Victoria. In 2018, Higgins was awarded an Officer in the General division of the Order of Australia (AO).

Anthony Filippis

Board Member

Anthony Filippis is the Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of Neurosciences Victoria. An internationally experienced Senior Business Manager, Dr Filippis has expertise working across many industries with specific expertise in the international biotechnology, pharmaceutical and investment industries.

Holding a PhD from the University of Melbourne and an MBA from La Trobe University, Dr Filippis has gone on to found a number of companies.

Dr Filippis has been on the non-executive Board of Directors for companies including Neurosciences Victoria Ltd, Impel Neuropharma Australia Pty Ltd, Cerebral Therapeutics Pty Ltd, AnaptysBio Pty Ltd, Boulder Ionics Pty Ltd, MingSight Pharmaceuticals PtyLtd and Neurevest Limited.

Jeffrey Rosenfeld

Board Member

Professor Jeffrey Rosenfeld is a Senior Neurosurgeon at the Alfred Hospital in Melbourne, and Professor of Surgery at Monash University. Prof Rosenfeld has extensive experience in senior healthcare and research roles, and has had a distinguished career as one of Australia’s most experienced military surgeons with the Australian Army Reserves.

Having obtained the title of Major General, Prof Rosenfeld has served on eight deployments to Rwanda, Bougainville, East Timor, the Solomon Islands and Iraq. In addition, Prof Rosenfeld has committed his time to the Australian-Aid funded Pacific Islands Project for the transfer of clinical skills to healthcare professionals in Papua New Guinea, Fiji and the Solomon Islands.

For his dedication to his work, Prof Rosenfeld has been honoured with the Officer of The Order of British Empire (OBE) for services to Neurosurgery and the University of Papua New Guinea School of Medicine, the Companion of the Order of Australia (AC), and the International Lifetime Recognition Award of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons.

Elizabeth Kendall

Board Member

Professor Elizabeth Kendall is a Professor of Disability and Rehabilitation at the Menzies Health Institute Queensland, Griffiths University, and is the Executive Director of The Hopkins Centre – Research for Rehabilitation and Resilience.

Since completing her PhD on Adjustment following Traumatic Injury in 1997, Prof Kendall has built a research agenda in rehabilitation and service systems for people who are managing the consequences of serious injuries, disabilities or chronic conditions.

As a part of her work, Prof Kendall has amassed over $50 million in research grants and consultancies; and has had over 200 publications in high quality journals including Social Science and Medicine, the American Journal of Public Health, Rehabilitation Psychology, and Disability and Rehabilitation. Prof Kendall has additionally designed and directed complex community evaluations, and randomised controlled trials of major health reform projects.